The Orphan's Daughter

The Orphan's Daughter

A heartbreaking and absolutely unforgettable page-turner set in Ireland

Sandy Taylor

$3.99

  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews

Description

‘Wow… I absolutely loved this book. Warning: keep the tissues handy!’ Goodreads reviewer, ?????

‘Gut-wrenching… Brought me to tears numerous times’ Stacy is Reading, ?????

Ireland, 1924. For thirteen-year-old Nora Doyle every day is a fight for survival in Ballybun, the rural Irish village she calls home. Each night, as she feels the cold wind blowing through the cracks of her family’s cramped cottage, Nora longs to escape the poverty surrounding her and find her place in the world.

When she meets Edward, from the grand house that looms over her tiny village, she feels an unlikely kinship that is impossible to explain, and as she grows from an impulsive child into a beautiful woman, Nora spends every moment she can with him. But Edward holds the key to a secret about Nora’s own family that changes her life forever, and the devastating impact tears Nora away from her beloved village. Now she must start afresh in busy, hectic Dublin. When Nora meets charming baker Joe Lynch, can she dare to risk her heart again?

But sorrow is never far away for an Irish village girl, and when tragedy strikes, Nora must return to Ballybun to see Edward once more and face up to the truth that drove her away. But back amongst the familiar sights and smells of her childhood, Nora feels herself drawn once more to her old life, and love, as she faces an impossible choice. Torn in different directions, can Nora find the strength to be true to herself?

A heart-wrenching story of love, loss and the power of friendship during unimaginable hardship. This book is perfect for fans of Orphan Train and Diney Costeloe’s The Girl with No Name.

Readers love The Orphan’s Daughter

Rarely do I find a book that can double me over with laughter and break my heart with tears, but this book delivers! It has all the elements I enjoy, wonderfully vivid characters, a great story to tell, love, friendship, heartbreak and throw in a dash of comedy and realism and you have a winner. This book delivers and then some!’ Netgalley Reviewer, 5 stars

The gut-wrenching feelings this narrative unearthed brought me to tears numerous times with its emotive words and insightful views on life and love. The writing was simply breathtaking, it was witty and beautiful in the same measure and it has quite frankly stolen my heart.Stacy is Reading, 5 stars

Writing this through tears, the funniest, most tearful book I've ever read. Fantastic.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

Wow, this is another great book that really deserves more than 5 stars. It is a heart-warming as well as a heartbreaking story all at the same time. I absolutely loved this book…


Author

Info

Reviews